Since 2017, Memo Review has been Melbourne’s only platform for weekly art criticism, each Saturday morning. Memo was founded by an independent collective of arts writers and historians wanting to fill a gap in quality art criticism. In 2022, we expanded our reach north, publishing fortnightly reviews of exhibitions in Sydney and regional NSW. We publish reviews of a broad variety of art exhibitions at public art museums, commercial galleries and smaller artist-run spaces, offering critical perspectives from a new generation of Australian art scholars, writers and artists.

Memo Review Inc. is an independent not-for-profit organisation without institutional affiliation.

Contact UsSubscribe

We would like to thank the generous support of all those who donated to our 2022 ACF campaign. We give special mention to our “Commissioners”, who made a donation of $400 or more—enough to fund the commissioning of an entire review.

Anonymous x 4
Melbourne School of Continental Philosophy
Levi Mclean
Shelley McSpedden
Stephen McLaughlan
Alison Inglis
Emily Floyd
Kate Dinon
Peter Willis
Raafat Ishak
Ryan Johnston

Anonymous x 58
Futures Gallery
Irene Sutton
Charlotte Day
Agatha Goat-Snake
Anthony White
Callum Morton
Cat Eyre
Cherie Schweitzer
Craig Dowling
Joel Stern
Rachel Doyle
Rebecca Coates
Freddie Never
Adam Stone
Alison Symonds
Andrew Curtis
Angela Brennan
Anna Zagala
Anne Mestitz
Anne O’Hehir
Ashley Perry
Barbara Campbell
Beck Edwards
Brian Fuata
Brigit Ryan
Cam Hurst
Claire Lambe
Coral Guan
Daniel Palmer and Kate Rhodes
Daphe Vlazlord
Darren Sylvester
David Sequeira
Diana Baker Smith
Elizabeth Nowell
Elspeth Pitt
Isadora Vaughan
Jacqui Shelton
Jenepher Duncan
Jeremy Eaton
Kelly Fliedner
Kim Brockett
Lauren Zoric
Leuli Eshraghi
Linda Michael
Lou Hubbard
Louisa Bufardeci
Max Delany
Pippa Hurst
Sharne Wolff
Stuart Ringholt
Suzanne Archer
Yugong Shao
Matt Giles
Anna Marrone
Audrey Schmidt
Belanco Loloa
Brigit Ryan
Catherine Read
Danny Butt
David Suyasa
Deirdre Cannon
Dom Inic
Emma Nixon
Emma O’Neill
Francis Russell
George Cox
Georgia Milford
Hannah Mathews
Helen Frajman
Hester Lyon
Jack Davis
Jim Mckenna
Joanna Anderson
John Secombe
Jon Tjhia
Julian Day
Katrina Grant
Laura Mclean
Lily Withycombe
Lizzie Storor
Masato Takasaka
Melissa Ratliff
Merryn Lloyd
Naveed Farro
Nicholas Tammens
Phoebe Harrison
Robyn Adler
Rosemary Funder
Sabrina Baker
Sarah Werkmeister
Seb Henry-Bones
Sebastian Kainey
Shaad D’Souza
Stuart Bailey
Tess Maunder
Tim Woodward
Timothy Walsh
Toby Mestitz
Yi Fu
Francois Tetaz
Marlaina Read
Lana Nguyen
Alice Desmond
Amelia Marra
Amelia Wallin
Amelia Willis
Angela Q
Angus Burns
Annija Koops
Billie Phillips
Brigid Moriarty
Dan Koop
David Attwood
Ember Fairbairn
Emma Fey
Gareth Morgan
Jade Irvine
Jane O’Sullivan
Jessica Lehmann
Josh V. E.
Kate Wallace
Katie Paine
Lewis Rodan
Nadia Hernandez
Nicholas Aloisio-Shearer
Noah Zawertailo
Olga Svyatova
Selena Repanis
Shae Nagorcka
Sueann Chen
Tiffany Tsao
Yuna Lee
Alex Colley Hart

Memo Review would like acknowledge our generous Patreon supporters.

Anonymous x 2
Andrew McNamara
Anne Mestitz
Cherie Schweizer
Graeme Auchterlonie
Jenepher Duncan
Jessica Honey
Kathryn Hendy-Ekers
Lachlan Shields
Merilyn Fairskye
Natalie King
Nicholas Modrzewski
Ruth Bain
Tomislav Nikolic
Town Hall Gallery

Adam Stone
Bridget Chappell
Elizabeth Newman
Elly Fink
Harrison Simic
Helen Hughes
Julian Day
June Miskell
Meridian Sculpture
Philip Morrissey
Shaune Lakin
Steven Rhall
Verónica Tello
Wendy Busch

Anonymous x 4
Charles Nodrum Gallery
Jacqui Shelton
Leo Seward
Maggie Kontev
Shae Nagorcka

VIC Editors
Amelia Winata
Audrey Schmidt
Cameron Hurst
Chelsea Hopper
David Wlazlo
Giles Fielke
Helen Hughes
Hilary Thurlow
Paris Lettau
Rex Butler
Tristen Harwood

NSW Editors
June Miskell
Nicholas Croggon
Verónica Tello

Architecture Editors
Madeline Lo-Booth
Daniel Kotsimbos
James Bowman Fletcher
Timothy Moore

Memo Architecture is supported by the Department of Architecture at MADA, Monash University’s Faculty of Art, Design and Architecture.

Amelia Winata (President)
David Wlazlo (Vice-President)
Nicholas Croggon (Secretary)
Paris Lettau (Treasurer)
Anna Parlane
Chelsea Hopper
Helen Hughes
Rex Butler
Tristen Harwood
Victoria Perin

Design by Alexandra Margetic
Development by Paris Lettau

The Melbourne editors acknowledge the Traditional Custodians of the unceded land and waters on which we work, the people of the Kulin Nations. The Sydney editors acknowledge that the Traditional Custodians of the place now known as Sydney are the Gadigal people of the Eora nation, and our work takes place across many unceded Indigenous lands across NSW. Memo Review in both locations offers its respects to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander First Nations Elders, past, present and future. We offer our respects to Elders and Ancestors of the Kulin Nations, and Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander First Nations Elders, past and present.